Uncategorized

What I Will “Never” Do

Q. If ever I raise children, I’ll never…

What would I never? I must admit that its hard to know seeing as how I have never had a child. When I was younger there were things that annoyed me, I had strict parents. No movies, no video games, couldn’t stay up late, music had to be christian and have little to no beat. I never got the allowance that other kids got, if I wanted money I had to work for it. I didn’t have endless numbers of toys, I played in the woods and had a trampoline. My brother and I learned that cardboard slides wonderfully on pine needles, so, since we had no snow, we would make “cars” or sleds out of cardboard and go sliding down the hills for hours.

The fact of the matter is, there are things I wouldn’t do but they would be more along the lines of: not giving my kids an allowance, not giving them every toy they see their friends playing with. I plan to never allow them, when they are little, to make my decision for me by throwing a fit. As they get older though I hope that I never step to far into their lives that I become controlling towards them. Teenagers make mistakes, that’s just a fact of life, but if I am always there to keep them from making mistakes than what will happen when they get out into the real world? Obviously, they won’t just run free but, get to close and you simply cause them to do things they wouldn’t normally do.

In short, I wouldn’t spoil them but I hope to get them ready so that when they are old enough to make their decisions they will make the right ones.

~ BlondHeadedHunk

Standard

Leave a Reply

