Life, People, Thoughts, Travel

Perhaps; A Small Perhaps

Perhaps the word bleak best describes the humming of the engine mixed with the music from my headphones. The sounds swirling together becoming one continuous buzz that seems to be the sound track to something greater. 

I look down and see the clouds out the window looking more like snow capped mountains than anything else as the sun begins the rise. The hints of orange just touching the edges of the horizon. I dim my window again to block out the impending light that will steal the sleep from my weary mind. 

The flight is nearing half way, time seems to pass at a crawl now. I’m stuck in my seat due to the two sleeping passengers beside me. Little to no hope of ever getting out of my seat until they awaken or I decide I have a dire need to get out. For now I am content to just remain here. 

I watched The Great Gatsby. I had started reading the book long ago but it never captured my attention. Now the movie has my mind wondering over life and how what seems and what is are rarely the same thing. Trust is rarely a luxury that can be afforded to most and should only be found in the company of few. 

Perhaps the state in which I am cannot be explained by scenes or by words but by sounds. Music seems to picture the mood of a person far better than any pen or brush ever has. The poets, the painters, the great artists of times past all have a place but a sound, though it may not live forever, will capture a moment sometimes best of all. Perhaps really less a moment, as a brush paints a picture, but more a mood of a moment as can only be replicated by the ebb and flow of the rhythm and the melody intertwining together into something more than two parts. But in the end are one, together communicating what is meant to be heard by that which felt it originally. 

Words, written time and time again. Letters that can be found everywhere. A word travels through time from its birth and perhaps to its death. One word born today and another lost tomorrow. Endlessly through time they travel, bringing a message from the past and conveying it to the future.

~ BlondHeadedHunk ~ 

Standard

Leave a Reply

